Vs65r Strange Noise Especially When Reverb Turned Up

bigfilsing

Reaction score
Hi all
I have an issue with my combo and I'm hoping somebody can help identify the cause
On the clean channel (1) I have a slight hum that isn't really a problem but in the background, you can hear a faint repetitive clicking sound.
On the overdrive channel (2) the hum is almost gone but the clicking is slightly louder
On either channel when i turn up reverb the clicking gets really loud.
It makes no difference if a guitar is plugged in or not.

I'm not very experienced with amps but have a basic understanding of electronics
I have downloaded and printed the schematics
what I've done so far
Replaced the power switch ( unrelated)
Replaced the preamp tube ( i have 2 spares ......neither effects the issue)
Replaced the wire crimps at the transformer that attach the 0 (black) neg and pos (red) leads
Inspected both boards for the infamous bad solder joints / loose components
Replaced all the caps on the power amp board ( some looked old )
Tried disconnecting the reverb tank
Inspected the reverb tank internally

I haven't been able to identify the cause so far. The amp plays fine without reverb but id like to resolve this issue as well if possible. I'm hoping somebody recognises the sound.
I've made a YT video so you can listen to it. ( Headphone wearers beware Its bad)

All help and suggestions appreciated Thanks in advance
Cheers
Phil

m1989jmp

Reaction score
Have you tried bypassing the eff. loop send and return with a cable? Have you cleaned the pots and jacks with a good contact cleaner? That's usually the place to start.

After that, try prodding various components with something non-conductive while the amp's on and take care not to short something out and also beware of high voltages, even after the amp's been of for 20-30 minutes.

Could also be a noisy IC.

bigfilsing

Reaction score