Virus popup threats

Metroman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
914
Reaction score
784
Anyone getting Mcaffee popups saying your computer is infected, and wants to scan your computer?? This has been happening for 2 days.

It doesnt do it any other time Im on the computer. Just when I visit this site.
 

crossroadsnyc

Senior Moderator
Staff Member
Joined
Feb 5, 2009
Messages
22,519
Reaction score
24,284
That's a pretty well known scam ... I think it means your computer has a virus.
 

Dogs of Doom

~~~ Moderator ~~~
Staff Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
28,980
Reaction score
42,899
Location
Los Angeles
nope, not me...

I think cross is right. Many x's something infects your add-ons & it reacts when you open a site that uses multi-media functions. In the past, they used to infect your java. Then you go on to a forum that uses java & the exploit exposes it's self. You think it's the site, but, the site just gets the exploit to expose it's self...

Not always, but, IMO, most x's that's how it works. Not sure what tech they hijack these days, but, similar application.
 

Metroman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
914
Reaction score
784
Doesnt do it on any other forums, and Ive scanned with 3 different antivirus programs. And go to a bunch of other frums. Not just guitar/amplifier realated.

I do go to Gear Page. Strat talk, Telecaster TDPRI, TaklBass, My Les Paul, Les Paul Forum. SG forum.
 

Dogs of Doom

~~~ Moderator ~~~
Staff Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
28,980
Reaction score
42,899
Location
Los Angeles
MLP & SG should be the same as here...

is this on a phone? do you use an ad-blocker? or do you get all the ad's?
 

ricksdisconnected

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2019
Messages
17,092
Reaction score
35,142
ive been getting them to. gotta close MF and reopen it to go away. also some kind of
chips or snack add as well. for about 4 days now i think it is
 

paul-e-mann

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
20,092
Reaction score
22,300
If youre running Windows do a system restore and roll it back 30 days. :yesway:
 

ricksdisconnected

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2019
Messages
17,092
Reaction score
35,142
i think this too has someting to do with my inability to copy/paste pics any more too.
happened at the same time. maybe i need to suffer through a system restore like
suggested above?????
 

Dogs of Doom

~~~ Moderator ~~~
Staff Member
Joined
Aug 2, 2012
Messages
28,980
Reaction score
42,899
Location
Los Angeles
Does it really? I wasn't aware of this, I'll have to look in to it. I've always used it for years.
I used to use it, but it did get bloated & slow. It seemed like my email would take well over ½ hr just to see what was in my inbox. Made my email worthless...
 


Top