Questions about tube biasing

ThreeChordWonder

Reaction score
I'm going to bias the tubes on my Origin50. I have the meters (two of them, side by side) with the right adaptors. Don't worry, it's a straightforward job on an Origin, and I'm an engineer so I know to keep my fingers out the way.

First question:

What are the ideal settings?

Second question:

I've always been told you should never run a tube amp without a speaker connected. Something to do with charge buildup in the tubes and / or power caps.

But...

Does this apply during biasing as well?

V-man

Reaction score
1. There is no perfect setting. IMO getting the tubes as close to matched readings is the bigger goal with my older less-precise amps. biasing is like bath water. There is too hot and too cold. The former is dangerous to the amp, the latter is less pleasant to experience. Plate voltage also determines hot/cold as well, as no two Marshalls, esp old ones run identically, but in a typical range.

2. ALL tube amps require a load at all times AKA “the firearm is always loaded” should apply. If there are no power tubes installed, it is safe without a load. If the amp is on standby, it is presumed safe, but I would not. If the amp is on minimal volume (0-1) it is:far less risky but still possible to do damage.

ThreeChordWonder

Reaction score
As it happens, the currents I'm seeing are pretty much the same:

Low 35 mA
Mid 40 mA
High 32 mA

Maybe +/- 1 mA on each channel, but not worth moving the bias trim pot over.

How does readings look? Russian Mullard EL34s.

Jon Snell

Reaction score
Your guess at current is all very well but you must know the anode to cathode voltage to be able to calculate the overall dissipation ensuring you do not over run the valves.

Some like them hot some cold. Without getting too heavy with maths and algebra.