Marshall voltage question

scottster

Reaction score
Maybe this is the more appropriate place for this question-- I bought a new JVM215C from the UK that got here late last week and want to confirm that its working while I try to find the right step up transformer (I bought one with the right specs but wrong plug).

While I'm looking for the right one, can I plug a 220V amp into a 120V wall plug for a few seconds to make sure it fires up and can take a signal before I lose my return window?

scottster

Reaction score
No, I wish it did. It looks like the legacy amps like the JCM800 2203 and 1987x still have them but not on this one

fitz

Well-Known Yinzer
Reaction score
I wouldn't do that.
I have no electrical basis for that advice, I'm an accountant.
Seems like it might have the potential to result in a substantial financial decline to the value of your investment.

Get the right plug, or see about getting the amp transformer rewired to 120v, or replaced, for a long-term solution.

Dr.Twang!

Reaction score
Oops I see that now on the 410 schematic that each power transformer has separate part number and input voltage for region of export.
It would be worse to go in the other direction, but not sure using 120v that you will have enough volts out of the heater circuit to get tubes to work.
Can you discuss your dilemma with seller to give you some more time to verify proper operation?

chocol8

Reaction score
You can wire up a 240 outlet in your house, or if you already have a dryer outlet or electric stove outlet, you can make a converter cable or pop a new end on the power cord.

scottster

Reaction score
Thanks all for the info- here's a pic. I bought a Hammond 176C (plug on the left) and the Marshall UK plug is on the right

Attachments

• IMG_1087rr.jpg
    IMG_1087rr.jpg
    548.2 KB · Views: 17

Whatwhatringrang

Reaction score