JCM 2000 Volume Drop

Vig

Reaction score
I have a JCM 2000 that out of the blue the volume will drop to completely quiet then about one minute will go by and it comes back up. Relatively random as to when it happens mostly in the first 15 minutes but not all the time. Getting more frequent. Where do I start? Thanks in advance.

Marcomel79

Reaction score
Im no expert but i would start by checking the preamp tubes...

Tatzmann

Reaction score
Start: Effectsloop Patchcable.

Volume back to normal? Then clean
effectsloop-jacks. Maybe effectsloop
button need cleaning too.

Volume not back to normal?
Maybe dirty preampsockets like guy
before me suggested.

Still have problems?

Vig

Reaction score
Is it a slow smooth fade, out and back in?
Yes, slowly goes to barely any amplified sound and slowly rises back up after about 1-2 mins max. It seems to be starting to happen more frequently to where I am anticipating something more to start happening and do not want to make it worse either.

Vig

Reaction score
Start: Effectsloop Patchcable.

Volume back to normal? Then clean
effectsloop-jacks. Maybe effectsloop
button need cleaning too.

Volume not back to normal?
Maybe dirty preampsockets like guy
before me suggested.

Still have problems?
This started happening a couple years back and I only recently in the last 2 months started using the effects loop and that said, it does seem to be happening more frequently since I started using the effects loop.
I can play for days weeks and nothing happens then out of the blue, it will slowly fade to nothing and anywhere from 30 seconds to a minute or 2 max it will slowly fade back in. I have never had a repeat while playing. One and done.

Handel85

Reaction score