In serious need of help, what's been modded in my -74 JMP MKII?

FretDance

Reaction score
Hey guys,
new guy in town here, from Sweden.
I recently posted a thread in the main forum,trying
to determine the age of a Marshall amp I acquired.
Anyways, it turned out to be a 1974 JMP MKII 50 Lead (1987 model).

Beautiful amp, with killer potential! However, it has been modded
in the past, probably in 1980, as there is a service tag inside stating this date.

What I'd need your professional help with is determining what mods have been done to it, as I am a total noob as far as amp guts are concerned, have worked as an instrument tech, by never serviced amps to any extent.

First of, it has a master volume mod, so a new knob has been placed where the indicator light was, and the light has been moved to a new hole, drilled over the "P" in JMP. Also, I see some resistors are missing from the PCB-board, and what looks like an additional wire soldered in as well.

What I want to do, is to remove the master volume mod, and instead do the "cap-mod" myself, to use on the first input, but loose the bright cap, have tried several amps with this mod, and I think it sounds brilliant for pedals.
Is it the cap on the Channel 1 volume pot I should de-solder, or is the the resistor in the input jack?

Are there and decent schematics for these amps out there, and I'm talking more like PCB schematics, no the "electrician type" schematic, which I can't read for my life :confused:

I would love to further mod the EQsection of this amp to become more like a Superbass, since I also think these sound superior to the standard Lead when it comes to pedals, you loose that nasty upper mid.

I'm including gutshot below, and sincerely hope someone can help me out here, or at least point me in the direction of someone that might be able to help me :)

388962980.jpg

388962982.jpg

388962985.jpg

388962995.jpg

388962991.jpg

388962987.jpg

Reaction score