I need a talent pedal

Roach

Reaction score
Title says it all. I was trying, not for the first time in my life, to learn guitar. I bought all this gear, then some left finger/hand pain comes up. Now, I haven't even played more than a few minutes in months, and I still do not feel I can play worth a dirty...
(obviously if I don't play, I won't improve, but am I just one of those that never get it?)

First, I don't hear well enough anymore to tune, let alone bend to pitch.
Second, I have only played unsupervised, and taught myself every bad habit in form, style and fretting that there is.
Third, I have no idea how to play ambient atmospheric sounds guitarists often make, or anything else resembling leads
Last, I turn 54 this summer, and my future is not hopeful.

So I need a talent pedal, badly.

fitz288

Well-Known Yinzer
Gold Supporting Member
Reaction score
I suck at playing guitar - I'm a 55 year old accountant.
The gear I have far exceeds my ability to use it properly.
I have a DVD set from Steve Stine that I use when I have some time and want to learn a little.
Good info for general knowledge and technique, and I can do as much or as little as I want.
But I'm also happy just to crank up an amp and strum some 3 chord tunes for a few minutes.
The only way to eat the elephant is one bite at a time.
And a Boss SD-1 in the front end is my talent pedal.

Dblgun

Reaction score
Some days I play well but my abilities are nowhere close to what they were when I was young and played several hours every day. Work, marriage, kids, grandkids and everything else take up the greatest portion of my time.

Thing is, the gear I have now is far better than the crap I had when I was playing all the time!. If I could only get a U-Haul and drive this stuff back to 1987!!

Last edited:

ricksdisconnected

Reaction score
I suck at playing guitar - I'm a 55 year old accountant.
The gear I have far exceeds my ability to use it properly.