Dsl1 (2018 Vietnam Version) Mod's

Mavrim

Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
32
Reaction score
35
I bought a used DSL1 a few months ago for $230 total. Removed the chassis to investigate what was inside. I noticed that the output transformer had an unused wire inside that was tie wrapped in the wire bundle. After ohming it out I decided that it has to be an 8 ohm tap. The only output is 16 ohms. With these small one watt amps, it is ok to mismatch output impedance without damaging the amp. I read that one of the marshall designers did that with one of the 50th anniversary models to get better tone. I added another output jack next to the 16 ohm jack. When wiring it up, I found that marshall had swapped the ground and hot on the pcb spade connection. So I swapped them and wired in the new lead. I recall that it was white. With a meter I read 1.6 ohms on the 16 ohm output and .9 ohms on the unused lead that I assume is 8 ohms.

I set up my DSL1 using the new 8 ohm output that I installed. Cabinet is a lead 12 slant fitted with an 8 ohm 12" celestion vintage 30. I also swapped out the stock ECC82 power tube with an RFI ECC82. Amp sounded incredible! Then I switched the 8 ohm speaker to the factory 16 ohm output and it did not sound as good. So I can see this mod as being a good thing for those with 8 ohm cabinets.
 
Last edited:

Mavrim

Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
32
Reaction score
35
Next, thinking about adding a presence control, NFB in/out switch, cathode capacitor bypass switches...
 

Mavrim

Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
32
Reaction score
35
PS - The built in attenuator switch for .1 watts only works on the original 16 ohm output and not on the additional 8 ohm jack. I will investigate that at a later time.
 

Mavrim

Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
32
Reaction score
35
ECC82 output tube V3 goes directly to the output transformer. Plates connections 6 & 1 go to transformer. So there is no question of a mosfet output stage. I believe that the phase inverter is a mosfet design...
 

Mavrim

Member
Joined
May 23, 2018
Messages
32
Reaction score
35
Thinking I might remove the additional 8 ohm output jack that I installed and replace it with a SPST toggle switch to select 8 ohm and 16 ohm. 16 ohm orange wire going to PCB would go to switch and 8 ohm white wire would go to opposite side of switch. Switch center would then connect where the orange wire went on PCB. This way the attenuator circuit would work for both outputs. The original 16 ohm output jack would now become selectable for 8 or 16 ohms. Too bad I drilled that large hole, now I need to use a large toggle. If doing this mod fresh, I would have used a mini toggle switch.
 
Last edited:

bobq

New Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2018
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Hello everyone

I've made your modification to 8 ohm and it's works perfectly.

Thanks a lot

Is it possible to change valves to improve our sound?

Thanks a lot
 

paul-e-mann

Well-Known Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2009
Messages
19,228
Reaction score
20,748
Im hoping somebody can figure out a mod for these amps to rid some of the compression in its tone. Great little amps just too much compression for my liking.
 

slagg

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
669
Reaction score
347
Location
Cheezeland Wi
can anyone tell me if c30 is the bright cap
 

Attachments

  • dsl1_04.jpg
    dsl1_04.jpg
    71.6 KB · Views: 127

ampmadscientist

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 26, 2014
Messages
17,857
Reaction score
12,172
Location
Bio-Isolation Lock Down
Im hoping somebody can figure out a mod for these amps to rid some of the compression in its tone. Great little amps just too much compression for my liking.

If you have the schematic it would be helpful.
Either that or the amp itself to draw a schematic from.

The basic Marshall formula is to compress the highs (the higher the frequency the more compression)
and to leave the lows clean.
The lower the frequency, the more clean it becomes in other words.

And when you hear "too much compression," it often means that the lower frequencies are being compressed too much....resulting in a kind of muddy overload when the amp is pushed.
 

Micky

Well-Known Member
VIP Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2010
Messages
21,152
Reaction score
17,922
Location
Vermont
Has anyone found the schematic for this amp yet?
 

luciferschild

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
4
Location
queensland australia
i snapped some shots of the pcb, would anyone out here in marshall land be willing to trace out the schematic? im trying to find the negative feedback for presence and resonance controls. would be nice to know if c30 is the bright cap also.
CpkTuHX.jpg

8CqUedM.jpg
 

luciferschild

New Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2012
Messages
7
Reaction score
4
Location
queensland australia
got a pencil sketch done up, will try figure out a way to computerize it when i get a chance. many frustrations tracing this board - looks as if they have gone out of their way make this difficult. like covering traces with components. curious about the 18k slope resistor, 10k mid pot and 0.047uF tonestack caps as well as the different approach to the tone shift. anyone know if those yellow caps are polyester or polypropylene?
 


Top