Archeological Marshall aficionados

J Marshall Hendrix

Reaction score
Around 1973 I bought a marshall head and one angle cabinet from a guitar player in a band from New York passing through Akron. I later picked up a full Marshall stack from a U.S. Navy serviceman that purchased it in England. The first amp had problems with hot plating. The second head was stolen from me. So in the early 80s I completely bread boarded the first amp. But as a nervous novice I did not have the knowledge to appreciate some of the finer points. So now I'm redoing it and have snagged a lot of vintage components like mustard caps and ohm and power selectors from British eBay etc. So my trouble is that I pulled the aluminum face plates and painted the chassis so I have no serial number nor can I find the Xfmr stamp. So obviously it's not a Plexi but I am thinking from the hundreds of pics component side and undercarriage that it may be a '70. It did not have a master volume. It has a hardwired power cord and square pilot light. It has the little straw sombreros on the el34s. Also the twin .22 mfd caps (c12 and c14?) are the half blue half white molded plastic. Any guesses?

J Marshall Hendrix

Reaction score
Picsart_22-09-11_17-23-56-875.jpg Picsart_22-09-11_17-23-56-875.jpg